Comparisons

App screenshot tools compared: where ShotForge fits

Compare screenshot tools by cost, local processing, localization and release workflow, with an updated look at ShotForge and its limits.

Peter Hildel10 min read
  • #Screenshot tools
  • #Tool comparison
  • #Free tools
  • #App Store
  • #Google Play

The short version

Screenshot tools differ far less in what they can draw than in what they ask from you: an account, a subscription, an upload of your unreleased app to someone else's server, or a Mac. Pick the tool that matches your release rhythm. A one-off indie launch, a monthly release train and a ten-language rollout have genuinely different answers.

How the tools were compared

Five criteria, chosen because they are the ones that actually decide the tool for you:

  • Where your screenshots go. Some editors render in your browser. Others upload your images to a server. Before a release this can matter.
  • What it costs to get a usable export. A free tier that watermarks, caps resolution or requires attribution is not the same as a free export.
  • Account and lock-in. Whether you can start without signing up, and whether you can get your work back out.
  • Repeat work. Batch export, localization, multiple device sizes, and whether the tool remembers a project.
  • The ceiling. Template count, 3D, video, stock assets — where the tool runs out.

At a glance

ToolRunsAccount to startFree tierPaid from
ShotForgeBrowser, fully localNoFull export, no watermarkFree
AppMockUp StudioBrowserNoFree editorFree
AppLaunchpadBrowserNot verifiedFree start advertisedNot verified
Screenshots ProBrowserNoBasic plan, editor and download$19/mo
PreviewedBrowserNot statedUnlimited 2D at 720p, CC attribution$9.99 one-time
HotpotBrowserNot statedFree for indie developers$1 per graphic
RotatoMac app; web entry pointNot statedFree start advertisedOne-time Mac plans; check price
fastlane frameitCLI, your machineNoEverything, open sourceFree

Free browser editors without an account

AppMockUp Studio is a free browser editor that explicitly says no account is required. Its site shows real, clay and solid-color device frames, panoramic backgrounds, patterns, highlights and store previews. It is worth trying if you want to explore visual treatments before settling on a layout. We could not confirm the previous article's claim of 400+ templates on the current product page, so we no longer use that count. AppMockUp Studio

ShotForge combines local editing with a repeatable release workflow. Screenshots, editing and image export stay on your machine, without a ShotForge account or screenshot uploads. It includes 6 multi-screen templates and 46 looks in five categories, six type styles, custom backgrounds, a panorama split across two images, dual-device compositions and a three-device sync layout. PNG and JPEG exports use the selected output dimensions, and a whole set can be downloaded as a ZIP without a watermark.

Localize, review and export together

ShotForge offers 39 languages in its translation selector, with up to 12 target languages per project. Whether a particular language pair can be translated depends on the browser's built-in Translator API and available language models. A compatible browser may download a language model before translating locally; users do not need an API key or a paid translation service.

Translated headlines and sublines appear in separate language rows beneath the original. You can edit each language's copy and text sizes without replacing the source text, then include the selected languages in a shared export with separate language folders. Translation affects the marketing text, not the app UI inside the uploaded screenshot. For that, supply screenshots captured in the appropriate language.

This makes ShotForge useful for multilingual releases as well as a first single-language launch. It does not make the machine translation professionally reviewed: short phrases can lose context, formal and informal address can differ, and longer translations still need a layout check. There is no additional AI rewriting or guaranteed translation quality.

Keep the project for the next release

Save a named project locally, replace screenshots when the app changes, review the language versions and export the updated set. A downloadable .shotforge.zip project file carries the assets, settings and translations to another browser or machine. This is a portable file workflow; projects do not sync through a cloud account.

For iPhone and iPad, the guided App Store upload package adds localized screenshots, a Fastfile, a Gemfile and setup instructions. You run the supplied Fastlane lane on your Mac to upload to an existing App Store version. The browser does not connect to Apple or request Apple credentials. This bridges visual editing and a local upload workflow, but it is not direct publishing from the web editor.

Assistance and limits

The story assistant has a rule-based template mode that works without browser AI. Optional local Chrome AI can assist with story and caption generation when available; that is separate from the Translator API used for localization. An unavailable language model does not disable the template assistant.

The editor now runs from 360 pixels upward: a phone layout below 768 pixels, a tablet workbench up to 1023, and the full desktop workbench above, all sharing one project state. Exports keep their full target resolution on every screen size. Its template and font selection is curated rather than an extensive asset library, and very large exports depend on your browser's memory — a constraint a phone reaches sooner than a laptop. There is no cloud collaboration or video export.

Subscription web editors

These editors offer paid features for repeat releases, localization or richer assets. Their free tiers and account requirements differ; compare the export you need rather than the headline price.

AppLaunchpad advertises 1000+ templates, an icon and illustration library, localization and automatic resizing for store formats. It is an option to evaluate when supplied design assets matter more than a local project workflow. Its homepage advertises a free start, but the pricing page did not expose a verifiable current plan breakdown during this review. The previous $15/month figure and detailed plan limits have therefore been removed. Confirm export limits and billing terms before choosing a plan. AppLaunchpad features, pricing

Screenshots Pro starts without an account, keeps your work in cloud storage so you can resume it elsewhere, and covers 23 device frames including clay and 3D perspective variants plus automatic translation into store-supported languages. There is a free Basic plan; Standard is $19/month and Extended $49/month, with a discount for annual billing. Its site explicitly describes server autosave and synchronization. Standard includes localization; Extended adds API access and a licence for client work. Cloud storage should not be mistaken for confirmed real-time collaboration. Screenshots Pro features and pricing

Previewed is the design-forward option, with 3D mockups, animation and video export. Its free Lite plan is unlimited but exports at 720p under a Creative Commons attribution licence, which is usually not what you want on a store listing. Plus is a $9.99 one-time purchase for 10 exports at 1080p and above with 3D and 30 fps video and a commercial licence; Pro is $19/month billed annually at $228/year for unlimited exports and 60 fps video. Check the attribution and resolution conditions before choosing the free tier for a store listing. Previewed plans

Pay per asset

Hotpot offers a drag-and-drop screenshot generator that is free for indie developers, with individual graphics priced at $1 each, and templates that include panorama layouts across iPhone, iPad, Galaxy and Mac formats. It is a reasonable middle ground if you need a handful of images occasionally and dislike subscriptions, with iPhone panorama, iPad, Galaxy and Mac templates listed on its site. Hotpot screenshot generator

When you need 3D and motion

Rotato focuses on 3D device mockups and animation, with 30+ devices advertised, camera and reflection controls, a Figma plugin and output up to 8K. Its site now links to a web app, while the linked pricing page describes Mac plans requiring macOS 11 or newer. Those plans are sold as one-time purchases; a current purchase amount and equivalent web plan terms were not verified. Check the platform and licence you are buying. Rotato, Mac plan details

For motion work, evaluate Rotato or Previewed's paid video exports. ShotForge exports still images and does not replace a video editor.

Automation for teams that ship often

fastlane frameit is the outlier and the right answer more often than people expect. It is open source, runs on your machine, adds device frames to iOS, macOS and Android screenshots from the command line, downloads its frames automatically, and takes titles and localized text from a Framefile.json and .strings files. It needs Ruby tooling and ImageMagick, and it has no visual editor. fastlane frameit documentation

If your screenshots are produced by UI tests on every release and translated by the same pipeline that handles your app strings, a CLI beats any editor. If you redesign your listing twice a year and want to see what you are doing, it does not.

General design tools

If your team already designs in Figma or Canva, evaluate whether your existing templates and export workflow are sufficient before introducing another editor. Compare the work required to maintain store sizes and language variants with the setup a dedicated screenshot tool provides. The best choice depends on the assets and workflow you already have.

Choosing

  • One app, one language, no budget: AppMockUp Studio or ShotForge. Compare the available layouts and how each fits your workflow.
  • Unreleased app you would rather not upload: ShotForge or fastlane frameit.
  • Multilingual releases with local projects and no subscription: ShotForge, provided your browser supports the required translations and you can review the results.
  • Many apps, localization and supplied graphics: Evaluate AppLaunchpad and its current plan limits.
  • Server autosave and paid localization: Screenshots Pro.
  • Move a project between machines without cloud storage: ShotForge project files.
  • Video or 3D hero shots: Rotato, or Previewed on a paid plan.
  • A few images, no subscription: Hotpot.
  • Screenshots generated on every release: fastlane frameit.
  • An existing design workflow: Keep it if it already handles your sizes and language variants effectively.

Where ShotForge is the wrong choice

Stated plainly, because a comparison that never says this is not a comparison: choose something else if you need an app preview video, a large stock graphics or template library, real-time collaboration, an upload to App Store Connect straight from the browser (the guided package covers only the local Fastlane route, only for iPhone and iPad, and only on a Mac), or guaranteed machine translation regardless of browser. ShotForge suits solo developers and small teams working through local project files, on a desktop browser or on a phone, including multilingual releases. Choose a different workflow when shared cloud editing, video or browser-independent translation is essential.

Sources

Official pages reviewed on September 7, 2026. These describe vendor claims, not independently measured quality. Unverified prices are omitted above; confirm current checkout terms before buying.

Editorial responsibility

Written and reviewed by Peter Hildel, who holds editorial responsibility for this article under Article 50(4) of the EU AI Act. Drafting tools may assist, but nothing is published here without a human check of every claim. .

Related Articles

Create beautiful App Store screenshots for free

Turn raw screens into polished store visuals directly in your browser.

Open ShotForge